Report of First Common Review Mission

The first Common Review Mission (CRM) was constituted by the Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India with the objective of reviewing the implementation of Rural Development programmes. The Mission was led by Shri. Sumit Bose and consisted of retired Secretaries to Government of India, academics and technical experts drawn from institutions of national importance and representatives of the MoRD. The 8 States visited by first CRM are, Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra,Odisha, Rajasthan and Tripura. The 8 States and 16 districts covered by the CRM represent a variety of situations in the country. The districts identified for the review include a mix of areas that are agriculturally backward, have high levels of poverty, tribal predominance as well as those that are coastal or more industrially developed. A study of the implementation of rural development schemes in villages in these States and districts reflects the overall scenario in the country. Hence, on the basis of the knowledge acquired from each of these States, national level recommendations have been framed.

Related Content